Crystallochemistry laboratory

Faculty of Chemistry, University of Warsaw

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

prof. dr hab. Tadeusz Marek Krygowski, prof. em. - Curriculum Vitae

Article Index
prof. dr hab. Tadeusz Marek Krygowski, prof. em.
Curriculum Vitae
Spis Publikacji
All Pages

Born 1937 in Poznan, Poland. Master thesis in chemistry at the Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan, 1961; PhD at the University of Warsaw, 1969, DSci (habilitation) at the University of Warsaw, 1973, Professor of the Warsaw University at the Dept. of Chemistry since 1983. Full Professor since 1991.

Visiting Professor in: Univ. of Guelph (Canada) 1974/5, Univ. of Nantes (France) 1981, Johannes Kepler University (Linz, Austria) 1995, Ben Gurion University at the Negav, Beer Sheba, Israel, 1999. Dong-A University in Busan, South Korea.

Invited speaker in physical, theoretical and crystal organic chemistry in scientific centres and conferences in:
Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, China, Croatia, Czechoslovakia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Yugoslavia, Ukraine, Wales. Author of more than 215 original papers, 17 international review articles and more than 15 polish review articles and one Polish monography (on aromaticity). Editor of the Elsevier monograph "Similarity models in chemistry, biochemistry and related fields". Amsterdam 1991.

International Cooperation in the last decade:

  • J.-I. Aihara, Shizuoka, Japan
  • A.T. Balaban, Glavestone, Texas, USA
  • P. Bultinck Ghent, Belgium
  • P.W. Fowler, Sheffield, Great Britain, UK
  • G. Haefelinger, Tuebingen, Germany
  • P. Hobza, Prague, Czech Republic
  • A. R. Katritzky, Gainsville, Florida, USA
  • P. Lazzeretti, Modena, Italy
  • C.A. Ramsden, Keele, Great Britain
  • M. Shahamirian, Shiraz, Iran
  • P. v. R. Schleyer, Athens, Georgia, USA
  • M. Sola, Girona, Catalonia, Spain

Professional positions:

  • Vice-dean of the Dept. of Chemistry of the University 1981-1982
  • Member of the Polish Academy of Sciences Committee: "Poland 2000" 1989 - 1993.
  • Member of the Board of Advisers during the presidential campaigne of Lech Walesa (1991).
  • Vice-president of the Polish Chemical Society 1991 - 94
  • President of the Polish Chemical Society (1994 - 97)
  • Member of the Advisory Board at the Ministry of Education (since 1997).
  • Member of the Editorial Boards of: Organic Reactivity (Tartu), Chemical Papers (Bratislava), J. Phys. Org. Chem., Int. J. Mol. Sci. and Wiad. Chem. Member of Editorial committee of Orbital.
  • Member of the Central Committee for Examination at the Ministry of Education (since 1999).
  • Titular member of Division of Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry of IUPAC, (since 2002) Chair of Subcommittee of Structural and Mechanistic Chemistry (since 2002)
  • Head of the Warsaw Group of the Polish Chemical Society (1980-1985) and Section of Crystal Chemistry (1985-89) Treasurer of the Polish Chemical Society (1980-1983), Vice-president of the Polish Chemical Society (1991-94). President of the Polish Chemical Society since 1994-7. Head of the Section of Physical Organic Chemistry of Polish Chemical Society (since 2004).
  • Chairman of the Subcommittee on Structural and Mechanistic Organic Chemistry of IUPAC (2002 - 2008)
  • Titular Member of the Division of Organic and Bioorganic Chemistry of IUPAC (2002 - 2008)
  • Associate Member of IUPAC (2008 - )/
  • Honorary member of the Polish Chemical Society Real member of the Warsaw Scientific Society (by election).


  • II Award of Polish Chemical Society 1968,
  • Minister Award for PhD thesis 1970,
  • Polish Academy of Science, III Departament Award 1973,
  • Member of Warsaw Scientific Society (elected) 1981,
  • Minister of Higher Education Award for scientific achievements 1986,
  • Regular Member of Warsaw Scientific Society (elected) 1995,
  • Medal of the Maria Skłodowska - Curie Society, 1998,
  • J. Zawidzki Medal of the Polish Chemical Societyego, 2001,
  • Prime Minister Award for outstanding scientific achievements, 2002,
  • Maria Skłodowska - Curie Award of the 3rd Department of Polish Academy of Science, 2004,
  • Honorary Membership of the Polish Chemical Society 2005,
  • Jedrzej Sniadecki Medal of Polish Chemical Society 2008,
  • Minister of Science and Higher Education Award for contribution to, 2008
  • Foundation of the Polish Science Award, 2010.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 13 December 2016 08:12  

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.

EU Cookie Directive Module Information